Local Attractions

The area is rich in history with many wonderful places to visit!

SHERBORNE

Town of Sherborne – www.sherbornetown.co.uk

Sherborne Castle – www.sherbornecastle.com

Old Sherborne Castle –  www.english-heritage.org.uk

Sherborne Abbey – www.sherborneabbey.com

The Richard Bramble Collection, Sherborne – www.richardbramble.com

Minterne Gardens (Between Sherborne & Dorchester) –  www.minterne.co.uk

DORCHESTER

The Town of Dorchester – www.dorchestertown.com

Athelhampton House & Gardens – www.athelhampton.co.uk

Kingston Maurward – www.kmc.ac.uk/

Dorset County Museum – www.dorsetcountymuseum.org/

FOR THOMAS HARDY FANS

Thomas Hardys Max Gate – www.nationaltrust.org.uk/max-gate

Thomas Hardys Cottage – www.nationaltrust.org.uk/hardys-cottage

Hardys Monument – www.nationaltrust.org.uk/hardy-monument

COASTAL VISITS

Abbotsbury Sub Tropical gardens, Abbotsbury – www.abbotsbury-tourism.co.uk

Abbotsbury Swannery – www.abbotsbury-tourism.co.uk/swannery/

Durlston Country Park, Swanage – www.durlston.co.uk

Durdle Door – www.resortdorset.com/features/66/Durdle+Door/

Bennetts Water Gardens, Weymouth – www.waterlily.co.uk

Bridport Museum, Bridport – www.bridportmuseum.co.uk

Lyme Regis Museum, Lyme Regis – www.lymeregismuseum.co.uk

West Bay – www.westbay.co.uk

Corfe Castle, Wareham – www.corfe-castle.co.uk/

OTHER PLACES OF INTEREST

West Dorset – www.westdorset.com

English Heritage – www.english-heritage.org.uk

Montacute house, Yeovil –  www.nationaltrust.org.uk/montacute-house

Glastonbury – www.glastonbury.co.uk

Glastonbury Tor – www.glastonburytor.org.uk

Cerne Abbas Giant – www.mysteriousbritain.co.uk

Monkey World – www.monkeyworld.org

Forde Abbey & Gardens, Chard – www.fordeabbey.co.uk